Precious Time

THREE WEEKS?!?! How has it been three whole weeks since my last post!? Time is flying and I feel like I’m barely holding on.

These last 21 days have been packed full of fun adventures. First, I made a quick trip home for my cousin’s wedding and had a great time catching up with friends and family.

While I was home, I made the decision that I will come home from Tennessee sooner than I planned. I haven’t been able to get a job here for just the summer, and I’m not making any money but spending a lot. That’s obviously not good on my bank account, so I’m coming home three weeks earlier. I am so sad that I’ll have three less weeks to enjoy this beautiful state, but there are some silver linings, like being able to be a counselor at one of my favorite camps!

That being said, my remaining time here in Tennessee has become very precious. I’m trying to live every minute to the fullest. Here are some of the ways I’ve been doing just that:

During the last weekend in June, Kristen and I headed into Nashville. On Saturday morning, we explored the Nashville Flea Market. It was HUGE! We only made it through a fraction of the booths and buildings before we were sweating buckets and decided to head out to find food. There were so many treasures that caught my eye. I wish I would’ve had a house to fill with all these things (and money to buy them). I ended up buying a few pieces of cheap jewelry, a set of old Disneyland postcards, and an awesome vintage travel poster.

After the flea market, we headed further downtown to the Nashville Farmer’s Market. Here, we grabbed some delicious food, like grilled chicken crepes, fresh Georgia peaches, and Jeni’s Ice Cream.

IMG_3783

IMG_3770

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday, Kristen and I drove back into downtown Nashville for a photo shoot (pictures to come)! We walked down Broadway street, visited the Union Station hotel, and spent some time at Sevier Park. We also grabbed some burgers at Burger Up. BEST BURGER I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE (and also most expensive burger I’ve had in my life).

 

This past weekend, Kristen and I ventured out of the Nashville area. On Saturday, we drove about an hour and a half east to Burgess Falls State Park.

On the way, we drove past a CASTLE. THERE IS A CASTLE IN TENNESSEE AND YES I FREAKED OUT! We looked it up more and found out this is Castle Gwynn, an authentic castle a man started building in 1980 and now lives in. It hosts the Tennessee Renaissance Festival in May (HOW DID I MISS THIS) and was Taylor Swift’s castle in her music video for Love Story! So cool, right!? I’m still trying to find out if there’s a way I can tour it. I might just have to make a trip back here next May!

IMG_4083

We made it to Burgess Falls State Park and spent some time hiking past the beautiful waterfalls. The sound of water rushing over rocks is one of my favorites. I could’ve sat by the river with a good book all afternoon. It was nice to get out of the busy city and spend some quality time with nature.

IMG_3859IMG_3864

 

IMG_3889IMG_3919IMG_3942

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday presented another fun adventure. We headed an hour north to Springfield to attend a Fourth of July celebration, featuring a concert by for KING & COUNTRY, one of my absolute favorite groups! The concert was awesome and Joel came and sang just a few feet in front of us! It was a struggle to stay composed. I’ve now seen them in concert three times and I can’t wait for the fourth! Eventually I will meet them!! There was a beautiful fireworks show following the concert. Sadly, we didn’t watch any fireworks on the actual fourth of July since it rained the whole evening.

IMG_3992IMG_4056IMG_4061

 

 

Like I said, these past few weeks have been packed full. It’s crazy to think that I have less than three weeks left.

Thanks for keeping up with my adventures, and stay tuned for a post about how I spend the last of my precious time in Tennessee in addition to some reflections about what God has taught me and how He’s moved during my 9 weeks here.

Leave a Reply

